HARE KRISHNA! HARE KRISHNA!

14 September 2014 , my visit to the ISKCON temple in Harrow marked one of the most peaceful days of my life. Being a practitioner of Buddhism I soon found my connection with the spiritual protection the temple had to offer. ISKCON stands for International Society for Krishna Consciousness.

5

ISKCON temple’s front view

ISKCON temple is a divine land where the Hare Krishna Movement is practiced by the devotees. Hare Krishna Movement was established in 1966 by A.C Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada . The devotees at ISKCON practise the teachings Lord Krishna ( Hindu God ) spoke five millennia ago. Lord Krishna is God who marks his presence in this world periodically to protect all his children on earth .

2

Lord Krishna with Goddess Radha

3

Demonstrated view of Swami Prabhupada’s lifestyle.

The philosophy explains that five years ago Lord Krishna descended as Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu to teach the significance of meditation in the current times. Repetitive and rhythmic chants of the mantra : Hare Krishna , were well explained by him. Till date devotees of ISKCON continue to chant the same way and spread the teachings of Lord Krishna all over the world.

6

Pathway to the temple

As I stepped in the temple I could feel the power of the chant being sung by the devotees in the temple. The positivity in the environment made me believe that I am taken care of. I felt strong and well connected to my higher self. Embracing the feeling I began to sway in joy whilst I chanted the Hare Krishna mantra over and over again.

 9

Small peacefull arrangement for devotees in the temple.

After sitting for a while, in the temple, I decided to walk around the temple. I witnessed people from all walks of life who have devoted their life to ‘seva’ ( serving for the humanity ) as it fills their life with peace brings them joy. I was then explained the details of the philosophy by an Indian family , with whom I made a visit to the temple. I was told that Lord Krishna is within our heart , all we need to do is realize that. The ISKCON temple is to help one attain purification from all the unnecessary pain gained.

We then sat down amidst nature and had the ‘Prasadam’ ( vegetarian food that is first offered to the Lord and then given to his devotees as his blessing ) . I was gifted the ‘Back to Godhead’ magazine, which well explains the significance of the philosophy.

The ‘Back to Godhead’ subscribed magazine distributed at the ISKCON temple explains the idea behind chanting the Hare Krishna mantra :
– To separate reality from illusion, spirit from matter and the eternal from the temporary.
– To expose the faults of materialism.
– To offer guidance in the Vedic techniques of spiritual life.
– To preserve and spread the Vedic culture.
– To celebrate the chanting of the holy names of God.
– To help every living being remember and serve Krishna , the Personality of Godhead.
The temple gave me all the peace that I had asked for . Do not just go by what I have to say , make a visit to the temple , chant with the devotees and get caught in the beautiful spell the chant has to offer.
Hare Krishna ! Hare Krishna!

